Will Republican Leaders Find Integrity in 2015?

One would hope that, since they are no longer operating as a minority party in Washington, the Republicans would find the courage to speak with integrity rather than mere anti-Obama bias.

One of their most disgusting and inexcusable traits these past six years has been their commitment to blaming Obama for everything bad they can imagine. The word “imagine” is the key here, since many of their complaints were about things that simply had no basis whatsoever in reality. Think of all their terrible complaints about Obamacare, for example. Not one of their major complaints had any connection to reality. Despite the enormous and fraudulent effort to make Obamacare fail, it is only the Republican bombast that has failed.

One very typical example of the cheap shots Republicans would take to find any possible way to complain about Obama was the diatribe against his daughters at Thanksgiving time. The President “pardoned” a couple of turkeys (real ones, not Republicans) and had his daughters make a rare public  appearance beside him. .They were uncomfortable and awkward, which I took to be a healthy sign that they are being allowed to be real teens, not being polished as miniature political figures.

Elizabeth Lauten, the communications director for Rep. Stephen Fincher, R-Tenn, wrote this:

“Dear Sasha and Malia, I get you’re both in those awful teen years, but you’re a part of the First Family, try showing a little class. At least respect the part you play. Then again your mother and father don’t respect their positions very much, or the nation for that matter, so I’m guessing you’re coming up a little short in the “good role model” department. Nevertheless, stretch yourself. Rise to the occasion. Act like being in the White House matters to you. Dress like you deserve respect, not a spot at a bar. And certainly don’t make faces during televised, public events.”

The outcry against such garbage forced Lauten to resign and give what appears to be an appropriate apology:

“I wanted to take a moment and apologize for a post I made on Facebook earlier today judging Sasha and Malia Obama at the annual White House turkey pardoning ceremony: When I first posted on Facebook I reacted to an article and I quickly judged the two young ladies in a way that I would never have wanted to be judged myself as a teenager. After many hours of prayer, talking to my parents, and re-reading my words online I can see more clearly just how hurtful my words were. Please know, those judgmental feelings truly have no place in my heart. Furthermore, I’d like to apologize to all of those who I have hurt and offended with my word, and I pledge to learn and grow (and I assure you I have) from this experience.”

Three comments:

1. She says she was reacting to an article. That fits the Republican way, such as when an anonymous petty official in India informed the world that Obama’s trip to India was going to cost America two million dollars a day. Fox News, Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and many Republican leaders blasted Obama for that without one asking whether it made any sense or had any connection to reality. They made fools of themselves but learned nothing.

2. She says she prayed about her remarks, after the fact. As a Christian myself, I bemoan the fact that many conservative Christians are primarily Republican — not Christian — in their mindset.

3. She used the occasion to blast Obama for being a bad role model, for not respecting his office or even the nation. Besides being a brainless thing to say, it was totally irrelevant to the way the girls were dressed. Any excuse to reveal one’s prejudice against Obama.

So far, I’ve seen nothing to suggest that the Republican mindset has become more gracious, more honest, or more realistic since the November elections. How can one be a Republican today without a deep sense of shame?

4.

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

