Scientific Christianity

I use YouTube for a couple of reasons, one of which is to check in on Richards Dawkins every once in awhile. Today I heard him say that if someone believes in God, that means he doesn’t understand science. that strikes me as a not very intelligent comment. What he can say legitimately is that such a person doesn’t understand science in the way that he, Dawkins, understands it. One of the obvious questions, then, is whether Dawkins’ view is the only right view.

I keep remembering my ten years in campus ministry. I had regular contact with 28 Evangelical faculty members, 24 of them in the hard sciences. How does Dawkins explain that??

One problem I have with Dawkins’ view of science is that I am convinced that science adapts its ways of knowing to complement the subject being studied. One wouldn’t study DNA with a geiger counter, for instance. Nor would a bunsen burner be very helpful in measuring the dimensions of a dinosaur thigh.

Just so, the scientist who studies genes (as Dawkins once did) cannot take his equipment to church some Sunday morning to see whether there is a God. How does one come to know God? The simplest and most direct way is to say, “God, if you exist, please reveal yourself to me. I promise to be honest with you.”

When God answered that prayer in my life 53 years ago, there was an immediate conviction in my heart/mind that cannot be undone by a Dawkins who wants to use the wrong tools to measure my faith. All that he says is simply unrelated to the Reality that I know.

That, of course, would hardly convince Dawkins that God is real. Nor would I expect it to do so. I have no intention of trying to convince Dawkins or Hitrchens or anyone else of God’s reality. Only God can do that.

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Modern Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

