I want to become a leader by being elected president

Can you imagine someone saying, “I’m not actually a leader now but I’m sure I would be if I were elected president”? I can imagine that very easily because we have a whole slew of people in exactly that position. Think, for example, of Ted Cruz and Rand Paul. Both are Senators who have been very outspoken. Have they shown any leadership skills in the Senate? None at all. It isn’t because they were too timid to try but simply because they couldn’t persuade any other Senators to follow their lead. If Cruz and Paul haven’t been able to become leaders in their own tiny sub-group of 100 Senators, what in the world could possibly qualify them to be leaders of the most powerful nation on the planet?

Look at every candidate the same way, asking, “Has this person proven to be a leader?” When you do that, I think you’ll be disturbed at how many non-leaders think that an election will make them into qualified leaders.The purpose of elections is to give authority to leaders, not to turn non-leaders into leaders.

What I fear is that we are increasingly liable to elect those who are not leaders at all and never will be because they are devoted followers of wealthy bribers, er, I mean donors.

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

