Trump Hopes To Be a Tyrant

A great many people in Hitler’s Germany had to swear an oath of loyalty to Hitler. One such oath was for the military, another for members of the SS. A third was for all civil servants, which including government workers, teachers, even clergy.

The pledge for the civil servants was:

I swear: I will be faithful and obedient to the leader of the German empire and people, Adolf Hitler, to observe the law, and to conscientiously fulfill my official duties, so help me God!

Notice that this is a pledge of loyalty to Hitler and the law. Since the law was whatever Hitler said it was, the oath was actually no more than a promise to obey Hitler.

Now jump ahead to march 5, 2016. One of our candidates for the Republican nomination for president does this to a crowd in Florida:

“Let’s do a pledge. Who likes me in this room?” Trump asked the crowd. “I’ve never done this before. Can I have a pledge? A swearing? Raise your right hand.”

The Republican front-runner then had the audience repeat after him.

“I do solemnly swear that I, no matter how I feel, no matter what the conditions, if there are hurricanes or whatever, will vote on or before the 12th for Donald J. Trump for President.”

The crowd ended the pledge with cheers.

How slimy can he get?

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

