trump’s Work Against Democracy

I know it is already old news but I can’t stop feeling astounded at trump’s claim that he will win in Pennsylvania unless the election is rigged. Read his words carefully. I’ve transcribed them off the videos, which means I’ve had to guess how to punctuate his poor grammar, but I don’t think I have distorted his meaning in any way.

The only way we can lose, in my opinion, I really mean this, Pennsylvania, is if cheating goes on. I really believe it. Because I looked at Erie and it was the same thing as this. And I’ve been all over this state and I know this state well. I know this state well. But let me just tell you, I looked all over Pennsylvania and I’m studying it and we have some great people here, some great leaders here of the Republican Party and they’re very concerned about that and that’s the way we could lose the state. And we have to call up law enforcement, and we have to have the sheriffs, and the police chiefs and everybody watching. Because if we get cheated out of this election, if we get cheated out of a win in Pennsylvania, which is such a vital state, especially when I know what happening here, folks, I know, she can’t beat what’s happening here. The only way they can beat it, in my opinion, and I mean this 100%, if in certain sections of the state they cheat, okay?

Destroying trust in the election process in a democracy is striking at the very heart of what it means to be a democracy. donald trump despises democracy. trump, like countless tyrants before him, wants to use civilian law enforcement to prevent an election from going against the way he wants it to go.Just like Hitler. Just like Hitler.

Remember this key fact: Time and time again studies have shown that the United States has almost absolutely clean elections. The percentage of cases in which voted fraud has been found is an extremely small part of one per cent.

And remember this key fact: All the polls show that in Pennsylvania as throughout the country, trump is losing ground to Clinton rapidly. There is no evidence whatsoever that trump has much of a chance to win in PA or most other states.

So, as usual, trump is speaking with no regard for truth and reality. He would be a harmless jerk were it not for the fact that he is so skillfully exploiting ignorant fear and prejudice.

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

