Checking Assumptions — Trump and Bush

How many times must I learn the same lessons? I know that assumptions must always be checked, so why is tonight the first time I’ve tried to check on my assumption that Trump graduated from Wharton  with an MBA?

It turns out Trump graduated with only a BS in economics. (No, stop thinking what you’re thinking: The BS stands for Bachelor of Science.) He went to a military high school (no evidence of having done especially well), two years at the Jesuit school Fordham University (no evidence of having done especially well), then two years at Penn State’s Wharton School (no evidence of having done especially well).

No wonder he shows no signs of having an education. Compared to what his current job demands, Trump seems close to illiterate. He understands manipulation and bluff but not economics, history, civics, or any of the humanities. He clearly doesn’t grasp the nature of our tri-partite system of check and balances in the US. Fordham — if not Penn State — must be ashamed to be associated with him.

Lacking an adequate education for his job, it would be doubly important that Trump have a range of experiences which might have prepared him. Alas, he is also totally lacking in that area. His experience has taught him to be an autocrat, a manipulator, no more.

I can hardly believe what I am about to write. . .We need a president at least as well educated and prepared as George W. Bush. Wow, how low can my standards get?

Here are a few samples of just how bright and articulate Bush was, just to let you know my idea of someone who is better educated than is Trump:

BUSHISMS

What I’m suggesting to you is, if you can’t name the foreign minister of Mexico, therefore, you know, you’re not capable of what you do. But the truth of the matter is you are, whether you can or not.
–George W. Bush, 11/06/1999, as quoted in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer

I understand small business growth. I was one.
–George W. Bush, 02/19/2000 in the New York Daily News

Well, I think if you say you’re going to do something and don’t do it, that’s trustworthiness.
–George W. Bush, 08/30/2000, in a CNN online chat

I don’t need to be subliminabable.
–George W. Bush,9/12/2000, Orlando, FL when caught using subliminal techniques in his dirty ads against Gore.

Families is where our nation finds hope, where wings take dream.
–George W. Bush, 10/18/2000 LaCrosse, WI

Never again in the halls of Washington, D.C., do I want to have to make explanations that I can’t explain.
–George W. Bush, 10/31/2000, Portland OR

The thing that’s important for me is to remember what’s the most important thing.
–George W. Bush, 02/02/01, St. Louis

It is time to set aside the old partisan bickering and finger-pointing and name-calling that comes from freeing parents to make different choices for their children.
–George W. Bush, 04/12/2001

I know what I believe. I will continue to articulate what I believe and what I believe I believe what I believe is right.  –George W. Bush, 7/22/2001, Rome

I have opinions of my own, strong opinions, but I don’t always agree with them.
–George W. Bush, 01/19/2002, in The Times, pg. 16

We ended the rule of one of history’s worst tyrants, and in so doing, we not only freed the American people, we made our own people more secure.
–George W. Bush, 5/3/03, Crawford TX

Security is the essential roadblock to achieving the road map to peace.
–George W. Bush, 7/25/03, Washington DC

The truth of that matter is, if you listen carefully, Saddam would still be in power if he were the president of the United States, and the world would be a lot better off.
–George W. Bush, 10/08/04, St. Louis

And so during these holiday seasons, we thank our blessings.
–George W. Bush, 12/10/04, Fort Belvoir, VA

The best place for the facts to be done is by somebody who’s spending time investigating it.
–George W. Bush 07/18/2005 Washington, DC

I’m going to try to see if I can remember as much to make it sound like I’m smart on the subject.
–George W. Bush, 07/10/2007 Cleveland

 

 

 

About mthayes42

I am a retired pastor, interested in the Bible, cross-cultural ministries, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and the current and past history of western civilization.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

